BrewnBBQ: How to Make Delicious Corn on the Cob on the Grill

Leave a comment

July 24, 2012 by burkej09


I remember my dad making corn on the cob on the grill when I was little and it was always awesome. I really don’t like that many fruits and vegetables (something my wife is constantly trying to change) so I thought I would bank on grilled corn on the cob. First time I did it, the corn was just black. After some practice and asking around, here are some tips to great corn on the cob!

Corn on the Cob

Corn on the Cob (Photo credit: kmakice)

1. Soak the corn for at least 20 minutes

Tear off the husks and soak the cobs. This is the most important step so the corn will not dry out on the grill.

2. Wrap the corn in aluminum foil. (or just leave in the husk!)

Tear off a square piece of aluminum foil and lay it out as a diamond in front of you. (one of the corners should be facing you) Butter the corn and season it now how you would at the dinner table.

I like to butter a piece of bread and then roll the corn around in the bread. It’s more fun that way. Then I’ll sprinkle salt in the aluminum foil and roll the corn in the foil.

Finally, wrap the corn in the aluminum foil and twist the ends to lock in the moisture in the corn. This is going to allow the corn to steam inside the foil while it is on the grill.

For real flavor, keep the corn in the husk, soak it and grill it for 30 minutes. While this is delicious, I don’t prefer to peel the husk after it’s cooked. I want to eat now!

3. Set corn on medium heat grill

Allow the corn to cook for 30 minutes. It really does take 30 minutes. I’ve tried to cut that short and its just not the same. Keep rotating the corn about every 4 to 5 minutes so you don’t brown one side.

These simple steps should reward you with perfect corn on the cob every time! You don’t even have to waste time seasoning it when you get it to your plate. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

